Skip to content
July 14, 2012 / Wendy Joan

Unpatriotic Slaw

I whipped up this mango slaw back on July 4th, and paired it with shrimp dumplings freshly steamed on my stovetop (how did I live before one of these?)

Not the most festive meal, but the cabbage was from my garden, the mango from my new favorite Asian market and the chat masala from the spice store a few blocks away. On second thought, perhaps my lunch was more patriotic than baked beans from a can, and hot dogs with contents of unknown origin.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Trina / Jul 16 2012 11:09 am

    sounds scrumptious!

    • Trina / Jul 28 2012 3:15 pm

      I remember when little boys stood on street corners in St. Petersburg & sold mangoes picked from the trees in their yards. This was somewhere between my grandparents house & Webb City. I rarely see mango trees now. Although, a house in my mother’s neighborhood in St. Petersburg has a mango tree in the front yard. I noticed the fruit on it last year. Perhaps she & I need to make some new friends 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Hot Slaw « whitehothair

Leave a Reply

