Skip to content
December 31, 2011 / Wendy Joan

Hopes for a New Year

Sometime in the last week or so, an interesting little aphorism popped up on my Facebook timeline:

Don’t make resolutions. Resolutions don’t work. Create rituals. Rituals work.

I like the idea, but the word “ritual” isn’t quite right. It’s a little too empty, too religious, too going-through the motions, not enough in the present. For me, “routine” is much more fitting.

Create routines. Routines work.

I can dig that.

2011 started a bit rough, with exciting changes right around the corner. The dynamic of daily life changed for the better–going from eight hour days at a desk to mornings spent pedaling to school, afternoons in class and most evenings at yoga. I brought a kitten home, as well as my first “real” camera. Sam and I celebrated our fourth Christmas together. Our family and friends are healthy and happy.

My hopes for 2012? Live simply, and cultivate change. Start journaling again. Live moment-to-moment.

[Oh, and write a thesis/land a reporting job.]

 

Photo by Anders Adermark. Original words of wisdom by Peter Shankman.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Wendy Getchell / Jan 1 2012 9:40 am

    I love routines too – simple and comforting. Of course, regularly changing my routine keeps me on my toes!
    I’m happy that I’m a part of your life – now and always.
    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

