Skip to content
March 19, 2011 / Wendy Joan

Dissecting Dinner (or, why high fructose corn syrup is not on the menu)

When I had lunch with my friend Andrea yesterday, she re-instilled in me a fear of preservatives. High fructose corn syrup, in particular. This proven culprit of obesity is used as a preservative everywhere you look–breads, lunch meats, soups, condiments etc.

I’m feeling pretty confident that tonight’s dinner is high fructose corn syrup free. I bought some really great looking cubanelle peppers at the St. Pete Farmer’s Market this morning, and tweaked a Cooks.com recipe on vegetarian stuffed peppers.

At the supermarket, I found most major brands of diced tomatoes included corn syrup in the recipe, but the all natural versions and organic brands did not. I bought a wedge of mozzarella cheese (not organic, by the way) because the pre-shredded mozzarella had an added ingredient to prevent caking. Ick.

And viola!

I think one of the many reasons people don’t take charge of their consumer power over food (and big business) is they think they’ll have to eat organic, which is expensive. Or because planning is too difficult. Or they have a family of picky eaters to feed.

At the moment, very few of us can truly escape eating the preservatives that compromise our health. I take comfort in the fact  I cook healthy at home. I know I can not control the ingredients used when I choose to dine out. And I believe if we each start making little changes in our own kitchens,  not even the big food companies can stop us from getting the nutritious food we deserve.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide / Mar 19 2011 7:38 pm

    I mainly try to avoid processed stuff, because it never tastes good. I don’t think as much about the health benefits. (Not, that I shouldn’t.) But the latest commercials from corn producers talking about how all sugar is the same. Come on.

Leave a Reply

