Skip to content
June 22, 2010 / Wendy Joan

When It Rains, It Pours

As I begin my second summer with a Florida mailing address and drivers license, I am realizing now how the first big summer storm is like the first snowfall of the season up north.

After work I traded the treadmill for a quick walk in the park, and made it home with a full (burlap) bag of groceries just as the raindrops hit my windshield. I am spending tonight in the kitchen.

Roasted Tomato Soup

Ingredients:

6 tomatoes on the vine

1 clove garlic, chopped

1 bunch fresh basil

Olive oil

Kosher sea salt and pepper

Slice an ‘X’ into the tomatoes and stuff with 1-2 basil leaves. Cover with olive oil, salt and pepper. Place in 425 degree oven and roast for one hour. Cool, and transfer the tomatoes and juices to a blender. Blend to desired consistency. Serve with chopped fresh basil and salt and pepper to taste.

Horseradish Mac and Cheese

I make mac and cheese from memory, but this classic Martha Stewart recipe is a good place to start. I used half cheddar, half horseradish jack for my cheeses, and substituted brown rice pasta (the lesser of the gluten free evils) to please my stomach. Try and spot the secret family mac and cheese ingredient in the tomato soup photo.

..

and for the morning…

Homemade Granola

Sick of spending six dollars for a bag of granola that could so easily get devoured by the aforementioned boyfriend in one swoop, I decided tonight was the night to make my own. I based my recipe off of the Amateur Gourmet’s easy granola recipe, using gluten-free rolled oats, slivered almonds, coconut, cinnamon and vanilla extract, but it seems to me that with granola, anything goes.

.

(Granola photo by elana’s pantry.)

Leave a Reply

