Skip to content
April 28, 2010 / Wendy Joan

My World = Rocked

You’ll remember the summer of 1997 as the summer that Hanson’s hit single “MMMBop” plagued the pop airwaves. One of the most successful debut singles of all time, “MMMBop” reached number one on 27 national billboard charts, was nominated for two Grammy awards and voted best single of the year by The Village Voice. If you feign ignorance, I don’t believe you. One verse will bring you back.

..

In the summer of 1997, I was 11 years old and committed to spreading the Hanson word to my South Buffalo neighborhood. My friends and I had the tendency to crank up “MMMBop,” and dance around the front yard, run back towards the end of the track and hit repeat.

For the past thirteen years, Hanson has been an embarrassing yet endearing memory. All that changed today when my good friend Jim sent me this video:

And I loved it. And I watched it again. And I have ever intention to download it and play it over and over again on my iPod. Kind of like when I was eleven. Who would have thought?

(Photo courtesy of http://tenalicio.us/images/upbeatsongs/Hanson-mmmbop.jpg)

Leave a Reply

