Skip to content
April 13, 2010 / Wendy Joan

I’ve Been Dreaming Of You

A few nights ago I had a dream about an artichoke. I’ll spare you the wacky, Wendy-dream-world details, but basically I had to eat an artichoke to solve this life-changing problem. Oh, and no one could see me with an artichoke, or they’d immediately know my secret.

Needless to say, last night in Whole Foods I couldn’t ignore the big basket of artichokes in the produce aisle. A great eater of artichokes, this was the first time I prepared an artichoke myself:

Baked Artichoke

Preheat the oven to 425.

Slice off the top of the artichoke. Spread open the petals, and sprinkle a bit of olive oil and even less red wine vinegar inside. Stuff with freshly minced garlic (two cloves), and season with sea salt and herbes de Provence.

Wrap tightly in two sheets of heavy-duty tin foil. Bake for one hour (the artichoke is done when a knife easily slices through the base), cool and enjoy.

[Source: All About Artichokes (seriously).]

Photo by aroid

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Pam B. / Apr 13 2010 2:30 pm

    I’m afraid to say, but I’ve never prepared an artichoke – at home! I have fear of artichokes.

  2. Bridgit / Apr 13 2010 6:44 pm

    yum, I never did it that way. Sounds easy and good.

  3. Pam B / Apr 28 2010 10:23 am

    Wegman’s special – 2 for $1. Tonight I will be brave and bake my first ever prepared artichokes!!
    Full report tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

