Skip to content
February 24, 2010 / Wendy Joan

Photo Essay: New Love and Punk Rock

[Photo essay inspired by Pictory: The One Who Got Away]

Self portrait taken (for vanity’s sake) no more than a month after we started dating. This was back when I was baking muffins and serving lattes for a living and not paying rent–can you tell?

That day was a weekday and I was not working and I took all afternoon to get ready. I teased my hair out and lined my eyes dark, put on my black Chuck Taylors and a white cotton tee shirt because we were going to St. Peterburg to see Agent Orange, a punk band that survived the 70s and is still touring.

Somehow, this felt like our debut, going arm in arm to a punk show (because you love punk). Me dancing and sweating and inhaling smoke because you can still smoke indoors in Florida. My lungs had been clean for three months since leaving Brooklyn. I didn’t know yet that I’d be staying in Florida and living with you.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Wendy Getchell / Feb 24 2010 8:37 pm

    looking beautiful as always – aren’t those my curtains in the background? ha, ha, – I remember that day!

  2. Pam B. / Feb 25 2010 10:08 am

    So sweet – thank you for sharing this special time!

  3. Wendy Joan / Feb 25 2010 11:01 am

    Of course this is in the cave! Also known as the best sleep around (until the doggies start barking, that is)…

Leave a Reply

