Skip to content
February 23, 2010 / Wendy Joan

Sound bites

Recent (and excellent) sound bites from NPR. Enough said:

It’s was a long-sleeve, yellow polo with blue stripes across it and blue pants. And they didn’t find any shoes for me. And so I actually ended up wearing these enormous slippers that were like, golf-shoe style. It was so funny, it looked like I was just going to go golfing or something. Everyone was kind of giving me a strange look in the airport. . .

Jay Howard, a 21-year-old  college student from Grand Rapids, sat next to Umar Farouk Abdulmutallab on the Christmas Day flight.

After landing in Detroit, the FBI collected Howard’s clothes for chemical analysis, and the replacement garb left something to be desired.

All Things Considered, 2.17.10

Will Ryan

Can I ask you something? I know you’re a choreographer and director and producer and not a costume designer, but … I feel like I’m so tired of seeing dancers in S&M fetish wear.

Terry Gross to Adam Shankman, co-producer of the 2010 Academy Awards telecast

Fresh Air, 2.16.10

Reed Saxon/AP

..

.

.

.

.

.

I think my whole case, my daily life, almost 90 percent spent on spiritual things . . .Promotion of religious harmony, that’s all my life, ’til my death.

The Dalai Lama, speaking with Rene Montaigne in Los Angeles last weekend

Morning Edition, 2.22.10

Photo from NPR.org, courtesy of the artist

He was morbidly obese, sweaty, crazy hair, these intense facial expressions as he’s singing . . . I mean, he really was just a sight. But when he opened his mouth, he had a range that other Qawwali singers just didn’t . . .

Zareena Grewal on Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, recently named one of the NPR’s 50 great voices around the world

All Things Considered, 2.22.10

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Wendy Getchell / Feb 23 2010 3:42 pm

    thank you for sharing these tidbits with us! always interesting!

Leave a Reply

