Skip to content
February 16, 2010 / Wendy Joan

Lipstick

.

.

.

.

.

..

.

.

.

.

.

.

..

.

.

I have a good friend

who once told me that

when her best friend turned 25

she started to wear lipstick

everyday.

Yesterday in CVS

pharmacy I bought

a tube of Revlon

Colorstay Overtime

in Non Stop Cherry.

The lip-stain lasted

more than the promised 14 hours and

I have never felt

more womanly pursing my lips

at disageerable mid-afternoon comments

or eating sashimi and drinking

unfiltered saki in too tall glasses.

In the morning I reapplied,

thinking horribly

of sending a tube to Port au Prince

along with a cardboard box full

of clothes and a brief

note on lined paper reading

Portez ce maquillage,

et après vous sera une belle femme

avec beaucoup de puissance.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. slpmartin / Feb 16 2010 10:02 pm

    A very good poem…thanks!

  2. Pam B. / Feb 17 2010 8:27 am

    Love the poem and I agree, lipstick is fun and you certainly should play them up (as they are one of your great facial features!) Emphasizing lips, eyes, eyebrows – frames the face (another famous Wendy told me this is so many years ago!)

  3. Heidi / Mar 4 2010 11:13 am

    “I have never felt more womanly pursing my lips…”

    Reminds me of a poet I used to read in high school. I can’t remember her name. I want to say Nicole. Nicole with a last name that started with a B?

  4. Wendy Joan / Mar 5 2010 11:42 am

    I have been wondering about this Nicole B, but for some reason I have associated Nicole B with Elizabeth Bishop (who I think is excellent!)

    Anyways, then I found this Elizabeth Bishop poem that I love. So, thanks for sending me on a journey 🙂

    Lines Written In The Fannie Farmer Cookbook
    [Given to Frank Bidart]

    You won’t become a gourmet* cook
    By studying our Fannie’s book–
    Her thoughts on Food & Keeping House
    Are scarcely those of Lévi-Strauss.
    Nevertheless, you’ll find, Frank dear,
    The basic elements** are here.
    And if a problem should arise:
    The Soufflé fall before your eyes,
    Or strange things happen to the Rice
    –You know I love to give advice.

    Elizabeth
    Christmas, 1971

    * Forbidden word
    ** Forbidden phrase

    P.S. Fannie should not be underrated;
    She has become sophisticated.
    She’s picked up many gourmet* tricks
    Since the edition of ’96.

  5. Ricci / Mar 6 2010 6:37 am

    This is great. After I got married for some reason I started wearing lipstick everyday, and I concur with the sentiment here.. and the idea of sending a big box to Haiti. 🙂

Leave a Reply

