Skip to content
February 15, 2010 / Wendy Joan

From Beer Bread to Kimchi and Everything In Between

I’ve been thinking a lot about the push and pull of inspiration and distraction the past few days. I can’t seem to balance the two out.

The house is a mess. That pile of papers and shoes and yarn and odds and ends go untouched (but not unnoticed) for another weekend.

But last weekend I:

Baked beer bread.

And made homemade truffles

And drew a silly picture for my Valentine.

Oh and whipped up a batch of  brown sugar scrub.

And started the new week with Valentines Day dinner a day late,

eating endless courses of Japanese tapas,

from kimchi to eel sashimi.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Pam B. / Feb 16 2010 9:46 am

    Wow, what a productive weekend you had! Great job to Sam on Valentine’s Day! Sam doing the walrus-
    Wendy, did you add sugar to the beer bread? How spicy did you make the truffles? Can’t wait to try to homemade facial scrub – will do wonders for my dry, flaky skin.
    Glad you did up Valentines Day-

  2. Wendy Joan / Feb 16 2010 9:51 am

    I actually adjusted the truffle recipe, and just made the plain chocolate ganash and added a teaspoon of vanilla extract.

    I didn’t add any additional sugar to the beer bread (the recipe calls for 1 T, I think). I used a brown ale beer, and added cheddar cheese and carmelized shallots. Dried rosemary would have been great, too. I’ll definitely make it again to go with chili or a hearty soup.

  3. Bridgit / Feb 16 2010 10:06 am

    Yes, focus has always been my issue as well. So hard, for me anyway, to stay on track. But, we are getting there, aren’t we? Cute as buttons — both of you. Happy Valentines!

Leave a Reply

