Skip to content
January 4, 2010 / Wendy Joan

New Year, New Book, New Project

After spending New Year’s Eve afternoon at the movies with Mom, I rang in 2010 making chili, drinking gin and watching the ball drop in Buffalo, New York.

On the second day of the New Year, I flew from 9 degree Buffalo to sunny Sarasota, which was incidentally chilly (maybe I brought the cold with me. . .)

In the Buffalo airport I drank a Labatt Blue and bought Push by Sapphire. The novel (which the new film “Precious” is based on), is extremely beautiful and hideously ugly–a first person narrative of an illterate 16 year girl in Harlem who has two children by her father and has a bright future despite it all.

Push made me uncomfortable, and it was so intimate that I felt like I shouldn’t be reading it. Push is excellent.

And finally, a new project! After more than a little coaxing, I managed to pry a stack of my grandmother’s handwritten recipes out of my mother’s hands, and a copy of Joan’s Taste, a cookbook my grandmother started for family and friends. With only two, plastic spiral-bound copies, the complete cookbook was never distributed. I have big plans for this little cookbook. Stay tuned!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Jan 5 2010 9:17 am

    Good morning, Wend!
    FYI – Your Dear Aunt Amy (who worked with Grandma and produced “Joan’s Taste”) contacted me this am, mentioned your recent blog and had a few comments. I assured her that the original recipes will be returned to the mother land as soon as you have scanned them.
    I know you’ll do an excellent job with your version of “the book”, please remember to share your journey with A. Am, me, Aunt Wendy and Aunt Gail when you have questions or ideas about additions and edits.
    What fun your blog has become!
    xoxo
    Mom

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 in review « Playing House:

Leave a Reply

