Skip to content
November 2, 2009 / Wendy Joan

I’d Rather Be Knitting

(from October 20, 2009)

Tonight, I knit through a(n online) class on Search Engine Optimization. I am making a woolen headband for the snow that will never come to Sarasota, Florida. With a pair of knitting needles dug out of a closet in my grandmother’s house some few hours after her funeral. Size 10.

-7

The yarn leaves the needle smoothly, and the sound of the needles scraping together is so delicate that ‘scrape’ is so far from the right word to describe the sound.

 

Update:

-8

Finished gray headband adorned with “pearls”

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Wendy Getchell / Nov 3 2009 1:32 am

    oh knitting – remember my scarf that I started on vacation to Burlington, Vermont with you and Christine? So cold we couldn’t be outside for more than 10 minutes (-5 degrees).
    I love the thought of it, but never seem to be able to sit still for that long. Your headband looks cozy and beautiful – you will have to go north this winter to truly appreciate it!

  2. Bridgit Agsar / Nov 3 2009 1:58 pm

    somehow knitting makes everything cozier and more peaceful. Think you’ve got it captured in the headband with pearls. Love the blog!

  3. Pam Biddlecombe / Nov 3 2009 2:41 pm

    I love my birthday headband and predict I will wear it soon! Some snow in forcast this week (just teaser snow, will not stick and we have 50 degree weather forcast for weekend – thank goodness!

    I may (or may not!) give knitting another try, although with a daughter that knits, maybe I don’t have to (learn)!

Leave a Reply

